Advice for new Canon lens for newbie.

mikeWest

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks, I'm a newbie Canon T2i owner. My birthday is coming up and I would like to upgrade my lens. I have a T2i and it came with a 18-55 kit lens. My pictures tend to be mostly of my kid and family (portraits) but I'd also like to get into architecture, planes, and some nature. I also would like to try HDR at some point and panaroma shots. In any event, I'm considering a zoom lens in the sub $250 range and a tripod. Any advice on the lens? (Also advice on a cheap ~$50 tripod also welcome.) Ty.

Welcome to the forum.

Most or all of what you mentioned, can be shot with your kit lens. Can you give us a more solid reason for upgrading? In other words, where are you finding it lacking?

$250 isn't much of a budget for an upgrade zoom lens. There are a few options, but nothing that I'd really call an upgrade.
You may want to add an additional lens, something like a 55-200mm or a 75-300mm. That will give you more 'reach', to shoot things farther away.

You may also consider something like the 50mm F1.8. This isn't a zoom lens, but it has a much larger maximum aperture, which gives you the option to get faster shutter speeds and/or a shallower Depth of Field.

And while a $50 tripod is (sometimes) better than no tripod...you won't get much for that price. Look around at your local camera stores (or even electronic box stores) and see what they have.

It's hard to give a concrete scenario but I often find myself wishing I could be closer to my subject. With plane photography that will of course be the case since it's hard to get access to the runway :) Architecture, I suppose can go either way. F1.8 50 mm sounds nice too. Hmm...