Advice for nightclub gigs...

CHOSEN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello All,
I just started shooting at nightclubs and I was hoping to get some advice from some of you seasoned photographers who have done this before. I'm trying to learn the ropes. My first question is ...What is a "reasonable fee" for, say a 9pm - 1am gig? I'm sure it depends on how many pictures you are obligated to produce, but in my case, I dictate how many "they" get. I'm deciding to give "them" about 100-150 pictures. I know how much I'd want to get paid, but I don't want to price myself out of the market.
How do you decide what pics get sent to the person who booked you? Do you allow them to choose out of the ones you approve of or do you make the call?

Are there any rules that you follow?
I've already heard:
....Please correct me if any of these are retarded

1) Never sit there and show patrons the pics you took that night simply because they walk up and ask to see them.
2) Make it clear to the customer that there is more involved in producing the images for them then taking it off of the camera and burning it onto a CD....like editing....(It's amazing how many people are confused when I say "editing")

What do you say to patrons that give you their card and ask you to send them pics?

Any advice that you could give me, regarding this, would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...

Charge the club or promoter whatever you feel you are worth plus some. If you charge too little, you are just devaluing the entire photography community.