Advice for wedding photography.

This could get long but I really feel for you and want to give you as much advice as possible - I'm not a pro yet but I've had some experience...

I've also been in the same position as you - not quite sure I can do a big event like a wedding, but in my case, I really wanted to try it - because they knew ahead of time it wouldn't be the same as a pro shoot, and they weren't paying me - so they were "getting what they paid for".

I had my D70 which I'd had for awhile but bought an SB600 before and made the mistake of not familiarizing myself with it ahead of time, so I defaulted to the settings after shooting shots too bright and too dark, and after that it was a lot better.

I did, however, learn from that wedding to the next one - the first went fine and I shot TONS of photos (another very good tip - get another 2 GB card if you can and keep going) and they ended up with over 350 good finals that they printed and re-printed...I worked so hard I thought I deserved something for it but learned from that too - a contract or fee up-front (if you want to charge one) is much easier when dealing with friends, family, whatever.

For the second wedding, I had a sample contract (just do a search, there's tons on the web) to use for our agreement, and a sample list of photographs they can check off. KEEP THAT LIST when you go to the wedding - ask someone to assist you even just to wrangle people up and keep track of time, and the photos you still need to shoot.

Get that list organized so you don't have to shuffle people back and forth. Do all the guys first, all one family, whatever - so the wedding party can leave if they want to. If they are comfortable and don't see you sweat, they are much easier to work with. A nervous photographer will make them cranky - it WILL happen! :)