Advice needed about big event

ajmall

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.photodrew.co.uk
Hello all,

I am a final year degree student studying in the UK and a freelance photographer. Most of my photography these days is events and nightclub based. Though young (22) I have a lot of experience taking some 25-30,000 photos for one venue alone in the past 4 years.

A graduate friend of mine elected recently as events officer for a large annual awards ceremony asked me to photograph it for her/the company a few months ago with a verbal agreement I could sell prints. The set up involves a backdrop with the awards logo and possible sponsors with my own 2 light head set up as I will have to photograph groups of around 20-30 people which is difficult with just a flash head.

My problem is that my friend has turned around to say I am not allowed to sell photos as they are paying my expenses (accomodation and food) and the event is "not for my personal gain". I had every intention of giving non watermarked full res images on a disc as well as selling photos on the night with a compact printer.

I have asked her to reconsider but if she doesn't then I don't think I will bother. She may be a good friend but at the end of the day this is business...

What's your take on this?

Thanks,
Drew

So you're just supposed to print the photos and give them away? Or just take the photos and provide the full-res files?

I think she'd be hard pressed to find another photog that can be paid in meals and a place to sleep.

That being said, don't stress the friendship over it, but don't bend over backwards, either...

For a job like that you should get compensated. Unless its a noble cause or you have no experience here is no reason to do a shoot for a company for free. What ever the comapny does you should ask her to provide there serrvice to you for free,see what she says to that.