ADVICE NEEDED legal issue of taking photos at a public car show

phil-ray

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hi people

i hope this is the right section

can i have a little advice please

im a photographer for a car site www.jon44w.com and attended a car show at the weekend.

baiscly i thought and presume that if u have a car at a show show on a stand u dont need to have the owner of the car to sign anything for me to take the picture and put it up in one of our gallerys.

a guy has now pmed me saying this

You have some photos of my pale blue Alfa 145 on the site from yesterdays Italian Motor Club gathering.

I have not signed any releases authorising you to use these pictures and am therefore requesting removal of them from the site and your portfolio with immediate effect.

i have taken down the photos in question, just for the pure thing of less hassle, but im just wondering where do i legaly stand on this if i didnt wnat to take the photo down?

im in n ireland so english law would be what im under

thanks

in America, you need releases.

ugh! I don't know how ot help you I don't know the answer but what a dork!

Legally in Canada, US, Britain, or anywhere else that I know of, you do NOT need releases to take photos of objects, property, things etc. If that were the case, there would be very few photos of anything. :lol:

A car can certainly NOT be copyrighted and it was in a show accessible to by the general public. If the owner did not want photos taken of his car, he should not have put it in a show in the first place.

Tell him to get stuffed.

skieur

http://www.sirimo.co.uk/media/UKPhotographersRights.pdf

This may help shed a little light on the subject. might not like, i havent looked into your query specifically. but this has helped me in the past.
Looks like if you weren't trespassing at the event, or if the event was on public property, you can do with the images as you please.