Advice needed on wireless dilemma

cynicaster

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Recently I’ve been learning about off-camera flash in a more “structured” budget-studio type setup with modifiers, etc. and I’m really enjoying it, but I’m starting to get fed up with the limitations of the built-in wireless system on my T3i. I love how I’m able to set the controls right there at the camera, but the “line of sight” requirement for the system to work—as well as its poor reliability outdoors—is driving me nuts so I was looking into some radio triggers.

As mentioned, I have a T3i, and one each 580EX-II and 430EX. I have access to a 320EX as well, if I need it.

Here’s my problem: if I go the radio trigger route, I’ll be forced to use my 430EX at full power, unless I spring for an ETTL-compatible wireless system.

I’m not a pro, never will be, and the portraits for family and friends I take a few times a year—a scenario that accounts for only a small portion of my photography—make it hard to justify hundreds of dollars for Pocket Wizards or other such “pro” products, just to overcome a limitation with the 430EX. Especially since I’ve read over and over how budget priced triggers from Yongnuo and others are working well for lots of hobbyists like me.

So if the goal is to achieve a two-light setup, with my current kit as the starting point, what would you do? Some options that come to mind:

• Sell the 430EX and replace it with a manual-capable flash, buy the Yongnuo triggers
  • Buy a reasonably priced third-party flash that has manual capability, buy the Yongnuo triggers, keep the 430EX as a third light
  • Bite the bullet on ETTL capable triggers