Advice Needed: Portrait Photography

kirbym2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Everyone,

I think I'm at a place where I want to start expanding my photography to paid jobs. I'm interested in getting into portrait photography, and perhaps corporate headshots. My question relates to the equipment required. I don't have an FX camera, and I don't really intend on getting one anytime soon. With that in mind, my focus is more on lighting and modifiers.

I'm not certain what type of lighting setup is ideal for portraits or headshots. I have an SB-600 flash, but nothing else when it comes to lighting. A lot of lighting setups I've seen include softboxes, reflectors, continuous lighting, etc.

Any advice that can be given would be much appreciated. I am by no means a professional, and would not intend to market myself as such. I know there is much to be done on the business side of things. For now I'm more interested in acquiring some equipment, and practicing. If this type of work is something that I have a knack for, then I may pursue the necessary legalities associated with a photography business and go from there.

Thanks in advance!

Mike

Hi Mike,
First and foremost, you don't NEEEEEEd Fx body. It is a wonderful piece of equipment but isn't necessary.
Lighting, on the other hand is important.
SB600, is a good enough of a flash... One simple setup is having sb600 on a lightstand firing into a white wall (or other reflective surface) to bounce of and give you a nice soft light. Of course w/ that comes into play exposure.
If you have an average kit lenses that comes with many cameras (18-200, 18-105, 18-55) those lenses having sweet spots of about f/7.1-11. You might find your self a bit underexposed bouncing sb600 into large enough surface and exposing properly at smaller apertures. Perhaps one of the cheapest and yet greatest lenses that are out there is 50 1.8. At least in NY area, on craigslist they are under $100.