advice on black n white

ls6firebird

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ive been playin with a few pictures i took of my car. one taillight is slightly darker than the other one which is driving me crazy haha. anyway, i made it a black and white so it wouldnt be as noticeable. im a beginner with photography so i was just wondering what too look for in a good black and white. this is what i have so far. any tips, advice, and opinions would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

DSCN0168-1-1.jpg

Good shot

Regards :D

why? not ripping on you just saying he wants to know what to look for in a good B&W and "good shot" doesn't mean much without a reason behind it.

IMO it just looks like another picture of a car; nothing really special, but im not really a fan of car photos. i do like to firebird though haha.

to me in a black and white i look for good dark blacks and good bright whites that aren't totally blown out. with a good range of grays in between. i tend to like alot of contrast in B&w's. hope that helped a little!

thanks frequency!

fender: thanks for the tips! dont worry i got thick skin haha, that was what i was lookin for. i understand ya on the car photos. i can see where they would be boring to someone whos not into cars. i started takin pictures of the car as i added different things to it, and it really got me hooked on photography.

thanks again guys!

It also seems like the image is not sharp, or was it meant to be that way ?

thanks frequency!

fender: thanks for the tips! dont worry i got thick skin haha, that was what i was lookin for. i understand ya on the car photos. i can see where they would be boring to someone whos not into cars. i started takin pictures of the car as i added different things to it, and it really got me hooked on photography.

thanks again guys!

hahayea man i got you! i got hooked because of bmx, but im sure not everyone enjoys looking a guys riding bikes haha. Keep at it, its a blast