Advice on new camera please :)

Gizmoxx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello!
i am new to this site so if I'm posting in the wrong place I do apologise.
I am wanting to purchase a decent camera. I've always had an easy point and shoot digital and so want to upgrade. I am in the uk and have around £450 to spend.
I am very new to photography so any advice would be good :)
are SLR cameras best ? I want to achieve good quality photos with vibrant colour. I've just been trying out a Panasonic dmc-lz40 but the focus isn't good when zooming in. It isn't very sharp or colour isn't great either! This was only £240 though.
Id like to be able to take good photos in any light, and some action shots (son is a footballer!)
any advice would be fantastic

thank you all x

Welcome to the forum

I would point you in the direction of a dslr simply because you want to do some sport. 450 in the UK should get you a Nikon d5200 at wex photographic with a kit lens. Now as always if you can add a little more you may get the 18-105mm instead of the 18-55mm. This camera has great image quality, good autofocus and is one of the best value cameras at the moment in my opinion

I know I'm doing this completely wrong, apologies if this is not good forum etiquette! I can't find the post a new thread button anywhere, and am new to the site and forums in general :( I'm really struggling to find the right information to buy ND grad filters, I've now established I need P size, but have no idea what mm adaptor I need. My camera is a Canon EOS 700d with the kit lense, if anyone could help I'd very much appreciate it :)