Advice on old SLR (Nikkormat FTN)

mimstrel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
(Newbie here looking for some advice)
I've been learning about photography on my two P&S digital cameras (both have manual settings, my pana has a fully manual mode). I've been dying to try an SLR but don't have money for one of the new dSLRs I've been drooling over, so instead thought I'd try film.
My dad inherited my grandpa's old Nikkormat FTn, so I asked if I could get it out. It's over 30 years old and the film in it -which I destroyed while checking that all of the parts still work- is labled "develop before 11/1982". Guess I didn't destroy it after all! Dad thought that it didn't rewind right but everything moves and seems to work (I think dad wasn't pushing the rewind button on the bottom). It has a 50mm f/1.4 lens, which is shorter than I could hope (I love telephoto, my favorite subjects are birds) but beggers can't be choosers. I also have a flash but we'll see if that is even salvagable after so many years with batteries in it. The light meter battery was also still in and corroded but once I removed it and wiped off the contacts it looks pretty much undamaged. The light seal is dead, but seems superfluous given the case that it goes in.

First off, any advice at all would be much appreciated. I've only gone hands on with dSLR, and that only a couple of times, despite plenty of theoretical knowledge.
Secondly, are there any parts that I might not notice that may have deteriorated over the years? Would I still be able to replace the battery for the meter (its a mercury 1.3 volt - if not I'll just live without the meter)? If I get everything working and like using it, is there anywhere I can find a resource to see which lenses are compatable? I'd like to at least get a decent telephoto.
I think thats all for now.
Thanks!

Welcome to TPF.

The Nikkormat FTN is a great camera - very robust.