Advise for Camera off Ebay.

gsxturbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm pretty new to the SLR scene. I've been looking for a Nikon D90 and on ebay you can get $200 off for using the Live.com cash back and then an addl $100 off by using a 10% off coupon.

My question is, has anyone had any luck with any of the sellers on ebay. Most of them have really good feedback. Really all I want is the Camera and Lens. I see most sellers have these huge packages with a bunch of other crap. I want to keep the bill under $1100 before the discounts.

Any insight would be awesome!

I have bought 23 things so far on eBay. Not a lot. I've had mostly good experiences, but I've never purchased something more than around $100 off of eBay.

Most of the bundles on eBay are garbage. I would stick with a reputable retailer like Amazon, Adorama, etc.

i bought a d40 a few months ago off ebay with a 17-55 lense and received it fine... so my experience went well.. i think generally they go well but i am not sure. I would say check the feedback (which you did) and then make sure that they offer a refund if the item does not work. that is my advice =)

I think in general, from what i hear, 95% of eBay experiences are positive. I've never had a bad experience with a seller but I know that there can be dishonest sellers out there. Feedback is very important. Also, if you pay with PayPal, there is buyer protection. You can file a claim if you 1) did not receive the item or 2) item is significantly different from described. As long as you follow their rules, PayPal tend to favor on the buyer's side and you will get your money back.

I have gotten some bad stuff from E-bay but it generally came with some good to balence the experience.