Age - Just A Number?

mad_malteaser

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have to admit, I don't frequent this part of the forum very often so I hope I'm bringing my query to the right place.

On my recent trip home my Dad surprised me by giving me his Dad's camera. It's an Agfa Billy Record, as far as I'm aware it's pre-Second World War, my grandad bought it second-hand in the 40's.

It's an absolutely gorgeous camera but as far as I can gather, it's not been used since at least 1970, the case and exterior of the camera are extremely weather-beaten (rust on the outer metal casing mostly). I'm not an expert with cameras, let alone old ones but the main parts all look in fairly good condition.

My question: Are there facilities or services on the British Isles that would take this camera and clean it up and check it's all in working order for me? I daren't try it myself, for fear of breaking it.

Old cameras are still used alot,
The main thing youll need to check is the shutter- these are usually the first to go, or they can get 'stuck'
There may also be light leaks which need to be checked- you can only do this by runing a film through it

You said there is rust on the outside, this could mean it has gotten inside as well, try putting a roll through it and see how it works,

lazarus219,

I got an old Yashica from 1969 handed down to me from my father but it doesn't work... I even put some money in it to buy a battery adapter to get rid of the mercury battery it used to use.

It's nigh on the same as my Zeiss Super Ikonta as far as I can tell. The main thing that's likely to have gone wrong is the bellows. You can check them by opening the back and using a torch in a darkened room (to look for pinpricks of light).

Other than that, it's all good-quality clockwork, so a tiny touch of suitable oil and you should be ready for a roll of film.