Alright so I want to get my name out there

Glycerol Sound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey I'm Dan and I want to become a professional photographer. I am growing a sizeble portfolio, especially focusing on the subject matter I would like to be paid for photographing- people. I especially want to do people in natural environments but honestly I'd shoot anything I can make money off of in the future (I'm a freshman in college right now), and I'd like to get into it now when I'm still able to fall back on something. My portfolio is currently up at Posterous.com @ My Work - Dan White Photography and I ordered business cards with that on them. I'd even be willing to start with some free work to get my name out but how do I really start marketing myself? Because I know that is the most important part and also where most professional artists tend to fail.
Also, if you guys dont mind lending some suggestions on my displayed work (if I need to weed out anything) or especially on the text beneath the galleries and in the About page.

I'm sorry that was so much to read I just really want to do this now and I need help from some pros. Thank you so much!

I'd even be willing to start with some free work to get my name out but how do I really start marketing myself?

If you charge for you work, you act professionally. Giving away free work won't benefit you half as much as doing a good job and getting paid for it.

As far as presenting your portfolio you want about 12 images that really is your best, work. Be completely savage with how you choose your images, ignore anything that has the tiniest floor in either, exposure, composition or focus.

There are going to be a lot of people posting below me with some harsh criticism, but they are doing you a favour. You can't survive in this industry unless your work is top notch, so listen and learn.