am i the only one who does post-processing in iPhoto

austriker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.dlindahlphotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
alright, so before you all flame for using iPhoto's minimalistic features to edit photos i will explain the rational for using it.
1) I am a poor college student and would rather invest in a lense than pay for a program (which i am just using the default lense right now).

2) I am trying to not rely on post processing and just make my initial photos great before advancing to using PS. I am just a beginner (had my own d40 for about one month but been shooting off and on for around one year) and so i do not feel the greatest need to get PS.

That being said i was wondering if anyone has any great tricks or tips they use in iPhoto. I am trying to advance my editing techniques in iPhoto (now i sound hypocritical oops) as to better my photos (yup definitely sounds like a hypocrite). Does anyone out there use it and have tips for editing? When i edit i know basic functions like moving the sliders (aperture makes it lighter for example). Is there anything more for me to learn?

i am using iPhoto '08. version 7.1.1

I don't know anything about iPhoto, but many people compare GIMP to Photoshop, and it's free! I assume there are as many GIMP tutorial sites out there as PS tutorial sites.

http://www.gimp.org/

Regardless of what product you are using, you are right on with trying to get the best image out of the camera. To many people seem to rely on just snapping away and knowing they have hundreds of $$ or more in editing programs to fix there half ass attempts at photography.
In my opinion there should be a simple Levels, Exposure/Contrast, and Unsharp Mask that anyone really needs. Unless they are doing professional photography.