Another Man off the Street

Glycerol Sound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I found this guy behind a fancy thai restaurant in Dayton, Ohio's Oregon District (basically our bar, food and art gallery neighborhood), taking a break, having a smoke. He seemed pretty pleased to have his picture taken, and I'm pretty pleased with the result:

Smoking Chef by Dan White Photo, on Flickr

It was originally in black & white, but I felt that the blue green tint really brought out the texture in his skin and the overall character in his face. Hope you enjoy it and I'd love some critical feedback too! Thanks!

Love it! I love this kind of photography. Candid, and just capturing random people at random moments. I think it's great....my only thing is that the cropping feels a little too tight. Maybe leave a little more of the arm on the right side (if you cropped it out). If that's how it is, then maybe next time try to get more of the arm in. I'm still a newbie so I'm no expert....but just my opinion. Great photo though! =D

Ahh, how I envy those who do street photography of random grey people with cigarettes and smoke and wrinkles in their face with awesome expressions! I can almost smell his nicotine filled cigarette!

I like it. I imagine it must be hard to compose properly these shots as the moment doesn't last very long. The arms doesn't really bother me, I'm just drawn to his nose, actually. Then his eyes followed by his cigarette. I say well done.

As much as I love hearing compliments like these (thank you so much guys!), I should add that it wasn't entirely candid. I did ask him for the shot, and took 3 or 4 till I got one I liked. Hence the clean cropping and "perfect moment" shot. I prefer to shoot like that over true candids because it allows you to get up close and talk to and know the person, to peer into their eyes, all that deep bs. But thanks a lot everyone