Another new guy, introduction

NE Oregonian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Small town in NE Oregon, high in the Blue Mountain
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm almost embarrassed to do this but my style has always been to jump in head first, take the knocks and learn.

I found this forum on a google search, it looked like a fairly friendly place for an absolute beginner to get some help.

After lurking for a few days it became quite obvious I may be in waaay over my head, but a guy has to start somewhere.

I live in a small town(11,000) nestled in the Blue Mountains in North Eastern Oregon. The nearest "mall" is two hours away, although Starbucks has finally found us up here in red neck land. I've even seen a cowboy or two slinking out the door with a four dollar latte from time to time. :lmao:

I am a fisherman and a hunter, but hunting seasons are short. During the off season I hike and take pictures, sometimes snowshoeing into the back country in mid-Winter.

My avatar is a Blue Grouse. Don't think many of you know what that critter is so I'll tell ya'. A Blue Grouse is a game bird that lives on high ridges with timber and open grasslands/steep hills close by. They are slightly larger than a pheasant(I've seen some that were 3-4lbs) and have somewhat of a reputation for being extremely stupid, but not all the time.

The "stupid" ones are the young birds that stand in the forest back roads and get shot by beer guzzling yocals.

I don't do that.

I park my truck at the bottom of the hill and hike for miles to hunt them. These birds are not wanderers, they find a spot and stay there unless harrassed to no end.

I monitor the bird families in the off season and decide whether or not to hunt them in a specific area(due to numbers) when the season finally opens up in the Fall.

Where am I going with this? Stay with me please.