Another new lens thread... General Purpose

DustinB

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to photography and I am starting to get a little more focused on getting better shots and understanding what makes a good photo. Anyway, I am looking for a better lens than my current kit lens.

Camera: Nikon D90
Current Lenses:
Nikon 18-105 VR Kit Lens
Nikon 35mm F1.8 DX
Tamron 90mm Macro

What I would like is a quality, fast lens. Something that would be good for all around shooting such as walking around to shooting portraits etc... Something I could leave on the camera most of the time. As stated, I am new to photography so I don't shoot any particular thing. Right now I am trying headshot portraits and family portraits, pictures of things around the house, the cats and dogs, etc... Basically working on getting good lighting on several different things and playing around.

I have been looking at several different lenses such as the Nikon 24-70 F2.8, the Tamron 24-70 F2.8, and the Tamron 28-75 F2.8. I am still up in the air as to which is the best option for me and I am completely open to other suggestions including different ranges. I do like what I have seen about the Nikon 24-70 F2.8, but it's kind of difficult to spend that much money on a lens being so new to the hobby, especially considering I just bought an SB-910 flash. The Tamron equivalent seems appealing, but the cost is still a factor given the plastic construction and possible quality control issues.

I hope I gave enough information without rambling, what would you guys do in my situation?

Nikkor 24-70.

used Nikon AF-S 17-55 F2.8 DX, if you don't mind staying DX for a bit.
They can be had in the $700.00's now.