Another Up Grade Question. D7000-D7100

Dana C

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a question. Which needs an answer.
While I don't take photos of insects in flight, at least now, I do take a lot of pictures of high school sports which are getting considerable attention. I use a D7000 almost all the time with high ISO's (4,000 - 6,000), high shutter speeds and 1.8 - 2.8 fixed depending on the gym lighting. I do wish my camera focuses, AF, better than it does. I use settings that correspond with what is being talked about, number of focal points, A priority etc. I use a 50 1.8, an 85 1.8 and a 80-200 new model dual ring 2.8. Some of the pictures are great and others I wish my AF worked better and I wish I had more pixels so I had more to work with in PP.

My big question really is, would I be better off with the 7100, (selling my D90 back up) and keeping the 7000 as a second body? I am not a beginner and consider myself an enthusiast at this point but still learning a lot.

The AF system on the D7000 is a good system but the one on the D7100 is a big upgrade.
Should you get the D7100 ?
Mhhh tough one
The AF system in the D7000 is very good but the one on the D7100 is even better.
Will you get more shots in focus with the D7100 ?
Probably yes, but how many better I cant tell you and its very hard to tell you if you should upgrade from the D7000 to the D7100.
Here is what I would do, if you see yourself moving someday to FX and can afford it then consider getting the D750, its a beast on so many levels, I took it to a Hockey game and got awesome results!!!
Low light performance and AF just work great on this camera and you already have FX glass.
If you see yourself staying with DX then wait a bit for the replacement of the D7100 and get it, it will have the new Expeed 4 so you will probably have a higher native ISO to work with probably slightly better low light performance and better AF system.