Any Canadians ordering from the US? Need a few pointers.

bla

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I'm a student living in Montreal, and I know that shipping anything from the US could become very costly very fast. I've had some bad experience with UPS when a computer bought from the US was shipped to Canada; and I wouldn't care to repeat the same mistakes if I buy camera equipment from across the border.

So basically, I'm slightly confused about paying duties, taxes (GST, PST: Provincial Sales Tax?, HST: Harmonized Sales Tax?), and brokerage fees at the border.

Are photographic equipment exempt from duties? And if anyone lives in Alberta, do you only pay GST (no PST or HST) when you ship from the US to Canada? If so, my parents live in Calgary, and maybe I can send it to them first. Paying only 7% tax instead of the full 15% would be worth it.

Feedback from anyone with any experience in this or has heard something about this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help!

There are (or shouldn't be) and duties on photography equipment coming from the US to Canada. You do have to pay 6% GST though. Alberta has no PST, so we don't pay that...but I'm not sure if you do in the other provinces.

I've been stuck with heavy 'brokerage' charges when receiving shipments from UPS Ground. I've heard that FedEx & other ground services are the same. I think you can avoid brokerage fees by shipping by air...but of course that is more expensive.

I've found that the best way for us Canadians to receive a shippment...is though the US Postal service. I've bought several smaller things and usually get away without paying any extra fees. I don't know if their ground service will get you for brokerage or not.