Any merit to this? Self portrait C&C. (Low-key.)

TheMightyGoat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been toying around trying to take a decent low-key self portrait and I don't think I've quite gotten the hang of it. But, I'm posting this to see what people think. Comments welcome.

P1040180b.jpg

I am by no means a lighting expert so take the following comments with a pinch of salt. To me, it does not look low key but under-exposed. My understanding of 'low-key' is that most of the picture is fairly dark but some of it is properly exposed. I cannot see that in your picture.

I concur with the underexposed statement. Right idea, just bring it up some.

I'm with Steph, the image is underexposed. Here's an example of how it should look. This isn't the best edit given I don't have the RAW file to work with, but I bumped the exposure on your face a little and did the high contrast thing. You don't have the flag set in your profile it it's ok to edit your images or not. If you don't want me posting this pic, just let me know and I'll remove it.

TMG_edit_2.jpg

Last edited:
By Deffinition this is not a low key image, it is just shot on a black background.
A true low key will show detain the the blacks and I can see no detain an any of the blacks here.

I'm with Steph, the image is underexposed. Here's an example of how it should look. This isn't the best edit given I don't have the RAW file to work with, but I bumped the exposure on your face a little and did the high contrast thing. You don't have the flag set in your profile it it's ok to edit your images or not. If you don't want me posting this pic, just let me know and I'll remove it.

TMG_edit_2.jpg

I think that's a really good job from the jpeg file! I'm impressed. :)

I tried my hand to edit (I hope you don't mind) this self-portrait, IMHO has great potential. Messed around with tonal contrast & a high pass filter in PS.
ok4glw.jpg

played around with the image a bit more. :)
es8c4y.jpg