Any part time photogs?

John27

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

So if you've read any of my other threads, you know I'm new at this! I'm writing for myself but often for my wife as well, this is a hobby for the both of us but a passion for her. Anyway, she's been saying for some time that maybe a few years down the road, she'd like to maybe do some photography on the side and 'test the waters' for maybe making it a career one day. It's a scary leap, I think she'd love to be a professional photographer, but of course that's a lot of risk for someone who works full time and makes a decent salary...

Some things I understand off the bat;

I have a little bit of experience with LLC's and small businesses, and quite a bit with self-employment taxes (I'm a Pastor paid cash by a church, so I am self-employed according to the IRS. But I still get a W-2, because my employer [who doesn't pay me, the 'franchise' does] is a non profit corporation!, so yes, screwy tax systems I'm acquainted with!) I would likely be handling that side of things for her, and we are quite aware that before she would ever start taking money, that an EIN, business license, and all that jazz will be necessary.

I also have been reading quite a bit about taking below-value prices to get business, that wouldn't be a plan either. Wouldn't be worth her time. That's not a concern.

She would be the shooter, but we have really been getting into this hobby together and so we would probably do things together somewhat, and neither of us feel like we have the abilities or equipment to start charging people money. I don't believe in charging discount rates for discount work. If you can't do it right, you shouldn't get paid for it! When she's ready to start taking her camera out for hire, it'll be when she's ready to charge market prices for it. But, it's something she enjoys and something that might become a reality in a couple of years.