any tips?

anthrax16

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.gssambali.com
hi guys! i just got my new canon 30d today. i got the lens with the package and its 18-55mm. i dont have the flash yet, so for the meantime im using the built-in. i just want to ask if you can give me any good tips or advice to start up with this kind of stuff, its my first time to have dslr camera. by the way, for your info im not a pro photographer :) i am only a normal person who loves photography very much :thumbup:

Hi

I think the best thing you can do is to get out there and start shooting! You will soon find out where you come up against problems (we all do) and then you only have to ask...:) Good luck and have fun!

well im more into urban, experimental and portraits. i also attend fashion shows. im more interested in those areas. i just want to ask how can i "squeeze" most out of my current stuff :wink:

anthrax16 said:
i just want to ask how can i "squeeze" most out of my current stuff :wink:

Shoot in RAW mode, and process the photos with good software like C1 LE ($99-highly recommended), Photoshop CS2($600+), or Raw Shooter Essentials(free).

Use a tripod, and bracket your exposures.

Your best bet is this Forum... I am also new to all these, but I have learned more about photography here than all the books that I have read and the photography classes that I have taken. Just go out there and experiment and asks questions here.....

Good luck

Philip Weir said:
Couldn't resist an answer to you quote. Some of us pros are also "normal" people, though my wife may not agree with me.:lol: :lol: :lol:

hahaha! :lol:

well i've been reading some books right now and try to experiment. i just feel more confident hearing advices from the pros :)