anyone use WhiBal?

Or you could just use a piece of white paper...

oCyrus55 said:
Or you could just use a piece of white paper...

the purpose of the thread was to see if anyone had experience with a product like this and to see what advantages, if any, it had over a 'piece of white paper'. any other info is appreciated, thanks.

- Jason

It seems like a pretty good product, but I personally end up not using anything. I shoot raw and adjust it later on my computer. If I were shooting more commercial work I would set my WB before the shoot, of course. The other thing that changed my behavior was a review of my camera that I read on DPReview. They said the Canon 5D's WB is so accurate that you can really just leave it set to Auto. Now of course I still get odd-colored shots when shooting entirely under incandecents or a beautiful sunset - but I'll just fix that later, and I usually wouldn't have the time (or space) to use a grey card.

I have no experience with it. I use the standard Kodak 18% gray card. A gray card is a gray card and, for purposes of white balance, is a white sheet of paper.

My cameras do well enough on auto wb except for incandescent that I just use that. When I shoot something under incandescent (rare for me) I just redo the white balance in Photoshop to fix it. Outside of incandescent auto wb is fine. I can tweak it in Photoshop if I don't like what the camera did.

I have one and like it a lot. My intention was to get it and try it out then maybe compare with other options (usually more expensive). But thanks to my NAPP discount it got even cheaper...it's been very accurate for me, but sometimes I'll warm the balance slightly just to get the effect I was hoping for. But it allows me to start with an accurate reading and then tweak for artistic intention from there on out.

It is much better than a grey card I think because I have some grey cards and they don't get as close as the WhiBal does for me at least.

Regards,
Peter Witham