Arabic wedding photography... Plese help!

MisticRed86

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Dear photographers,

I recently moved to Dubai where I'm trying to build my career as a fashion photographer before this I lived in Serbia where I was focused on exhibiting conceptual art photography.

I received job offer to shoot the Arabic wedding and since I'm not very experienced with this field of photography I would really appreciate any kind of advices from photographers that work with weddings especially the ones that are familiar with Middle east and Arabic culture.

I know that the smart thing would be to search someone with experience to be the lead photographer but unfortunately I was informed about the job bit late and I'm forced to exclude that option, also couple already saw my work, they like it and they want only me to do it.

In general I have solid knowledge of photography and I would just like to know what is exactly required from photographer on the wedding day and what are the Arabic wedding customs?

I would appreciate any kind of advice soooo much :) :) :)

Thank you :D

You'll probably get a lot of feedback from the wedding people here on the technical details.

However, you should also consult with the clients in some detail over any religious issues. Islamic doctrine varies, but there may well be some very definite ideas about photography in play here. For instance, you may need to put special emphasis on photographs that DO NOT INCLUDE people, to capture the idea of the wedding in the objects of the wedding. You may in fact be asked not to photograph people at all, or you may need to pay special attention to people and avoid "silly" or "fun" shots, and so on. Anyways, consult with the client, and see if you can consult with any religious types who might be involved for specific guidance.