are cheap flashes crummy?

Raven

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
so, i just got my tax return, and thinking of picking up a pentax K-x as my first slr.
with that, i have an option of either getting the Pentax k-x with an additional lens of 55-150 or 200...

OR

just get a regular pentax K-x with the standard 18-55 ml kit lens and add a flash on top of it.

now, ebay has a few flashes for the k-x that start at 40ish bucks.

considering i've seen flashes go for a few hundred dollars, even as much as 900 dollars...how crappy can a 40 dollar flash be? i mean, since i am a noob, i dont want something that is too high end, but at the same time, i want something that will last for quiet some time and is decent- not the best- but gets the job done.

and i'll be taking pics indoors and outdoors...

I have a vivitar 383 and its a terrific flash, it cost ~120, which is half as much as the nikon equivalent. It's solidly built and works well

Define crummy.

The lower the price, the fewer the features, and often the less power a flash unit has.

If you're willing to learn how to manually use strobed light (flash) and bypass the auto modes you can save some money. If you need the auto modes you'll need to spend more.

I use my flash units in manual mode so I don't need any bells and whistles like TTL, but I do need power so I use these $90 flash units: Vivitar 285HV Auto Professional Flash

Though I have one of these that has equal power bit only cost $50 on order to try: YONGNUO Flash Speedlite YN-460II for Nikon Canon Pentax

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.