Are macro extension tubes any good?

fishiboii

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Aloha! I'm new to postin here so appologies if I do something wrong. I've been interested in doing macro shots lately, After borrowing my mate's really nice macro lens. I'd love one myself, but at the moment money is low. However I've been looking into these macro extension tubes and they seem to make sense, I guess they just extend the distance from the lens thus producing a magnified image, right? Well has anyone had any experience with them that they could share, or any alternatives to this? Here's what I'm thinking of getting:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...582825382.9554.100001701231188&type=3&theaterhttp://www.amazon.co.uk/MACRO-EXTENSION-TUBES-CANON-Camera/dp/B001CWZE6A/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top
Cheers peoples :)

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
you would be better off with a set of Kenkos or similar (they will still allow metering) but they do cost more. Or pick up a Raynox DCR 250, and use it on a 35mm or 50mm prime... they rock

Do a search on Ebay for extension tubes. You'll find AF ones half the price of kenko...

I would definitely NOT buy that set of tubes. It looks like it only has one mount and you insert the extensions between the mounts rather than each tube having a mount. This means that it's going to be flimsier. As well, cheap tubes often don't have the best quality control - I know of one person who saved $200 by buying a similar set as opposed to Kenko tubes, and then had to spend $250 for the camera shop to CUT the tube off of his D80 after it jammed on.

Kenko tubes are pricey, but you get what you pay for!

I prefer bellows myself. More flexible, permits the use of lenses in barrel - such as enlarging lenses.

I prefer bellows myself. More flexible, permits the use of lenses in barrel - such as enlarging lenses.