Artist?

Artemis

Just Punked Himself
Reaction score
Website
www.falcon-eye.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Oki...this is about a photographer...me....am I an artist? I dont think I am...I call myself a photographer, but I do not try to call myself, because I am not an artist....I think people like DaviantArt (SP?) are artists...im just a photographer..
I was having an argument with a good mate of mine I know on the net, and he said I am an artist and wont budge from the position...but ive never aimd to be an artist...never thought it possible...am I an artist?

So... A bloke who plays with stone is just a sculptor and a guy who plays with paints just a painter?
I think it depends on what you do with your camera. You can create art, or record life. I'd say anyone who tries to create something with their camera is an artist and anyone who just wants shots of life is a photographer.

It's a dodgy subject, mind. You'll have to start defining what art actually is and people tend to throw pencils and cups around when that topic starts up. *ducks*

Have you created something?
When you took the shot, was there any artistic vision involved?
If you call yourself a photographer, thats fine, but if someone else calls you an artist, thats fine too.
How in your mind are you defining an artist? Is it someone who is creative or someone that holds himself higher than others and takes himself too seriously?
Just remember your personal morals and ethics and call yourself whatever you want.

What's in a name?
If someone says you are an artist or you decide to call yourself an artist - does that make a difference to your pictures?
You do what you have to and you do it the way you feel you must. If someone else wants to give you a label, that's up to them but I wouldn't worry about it.

ferny said: