At what point do you sell?

Saddlebreds4me

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I am new to photography and new to this site. My main interest is photographing horses either at shows or in the field playing. Right now, I am pretty happy practicing (I don't ever want to be a professional, meaning the source of my sole income) at my own barn with the horses and owner who are there.

Several people in the barn have asked to purchase my photos - but I don't feel "good enough" to take money for them. Sure, there are shots where I get lucky (shooting horses means a lot of your life is controlled by ears - I like them up and looking forward) but that doesn't exclude other photos that might be worthy of purchase to be sure.

I'm just not comfortable with charging - for those of you who are kind of like me - keeping it a hobby and something I enjoy - did you end up selling any of your photos and at what point?

Thanks for any input.

Sell some prints if people want them. Why wouldn't you? If people like them they have value. Maybe $20 for an 8x10. At some point you will start to feel confident enough to start shooting at more horse shows and selling even more prints. You could even start studying print making get your own printer and calibrating tools and make a little niche for yourself.

Thanks very much for your reply!

I know, people are telling me (within the barn anyway) that I should charge for the really good shots that are often sometimes better (shot, angle, light) than then in-ring photographer.

I'm not sure why I feel like I don't deserve to be paid for my work. But I like your suggestion about not only the pricing on the photos but the print making as well.

Thanks again!