Automotive Post Processing

Mot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
theflashbulb.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
After getting myself a copy of Photoshop CS5 I decided to start editing some vehicles, one of the main reasons I realised that I needed PhotoShop!

I am a total Photoshop novice and I am finding few in-depth tutorials relating directly to automotive editing. I have plainly been looking at other images and trying to work out ways of doing the effects I see in Photoshop.

I have not had an opportunity to shoot images deliberately for any style of processing so used a lack lustre image that I found in my Lightroom Catalogue!

$BeforeandAfter.jpg

Ignoring the background what improvements can you see and where do you feel it needs more work? Where have I gone too far and where needs boosting? Personally, after posting I feel that the glass looks too tinted and the effect could be reduced.

What I really want to know is the general workflow for editing vehicles. When editing portraits you might brighten the eyes, whiten the teeth, remove spots, tidy hair and even soften skin but what are the common processes for vehicular photography? Any tutorials will also be greatly appreciated!

caranimation.gif

Here's an animation to make it more obvious what I've done! Ignore the GIF related loss in quality.

Last edited:
I don't know much about PP on automotive shots ... but I do know that lighting the car properly, and controlling reflection is the most important thing you can do when initially shooting the image.

Why did you not use a polarizing filter when shooting this?

I did.