B+W Makes better shots?

Recess

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been in two minds as whether to put this in here, or the forum below. I figure here will do, as I'm a relative beginner.

I'm in the process of taking a load of photos to support a book I'm writing (DJ'ing for Dummies) - and as the shots will be printed in black and white, I'm trying to find the balance between making it nice for both B+W and for colour (for promotional use).

Of course, there's not much of a balance, but it did make me think about how black and white can improve a lack-lustre shot dramatically if colour isn't an issue. I'm not book read on photography, and you can all judge the shot below as to if I'm any good anyway - but I was interested if anyone had any thoughts as to why desaturating a shot can suddenly make it worthwhile, whereas the colour version didn't do anything for you (well, me).

I know the actual colours are part of this, but from a technical point of view, is there any reason that black and white can be aesthetically more pleasing?

If anyone can actually understand what I'm trying to say here, I'd love a response. If you're sitting there wondering what the hell I'm on about, then I'll have a deeper think, and get back to you. Doesn't look good for the book if I can't get my words across right, huh?

Thanks in advance.

back-of-tone-arm-bandw.jpg

back-of-tone-arm.jpg

Personally, I prefer Black and White most of the time.

That said, I'd recommend shooting images with fine-grained color film (or low ISO settings, in color, on a digital camera). When they print the images, they'll convert them to BW, as needed, and print them at a low resolution. You'll never get full resolution, or anywhere near it, in print... take a close look at the images in any given For Dummies book--or any other book.