B&W questions.....

RedBeard8

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am completely new to film, so I am confused and have questions. So please forgive me if I ask something stupid. I have done a good bit of reading, but it all starts to jumble together in my head. So I figured I would ask than try to figure it out and waste film. My camera's are a Canon AE-1 Program with a 35-70mm Sigma 2.8-4 and a Nikon N80 with a Nikon 28-80mm .35-1.15.

The Canon is pretty easy to use...the Nikon, not so much. I mainly want to do landscape and anything outdoors. I love B&W so I will be doing a good bit of it, along with some color. I have a uv filter, a polarizing filter, and a yellow filter. I also will be doing day and night stuff.

So after all that, haha, what would be the best films to use and ISO setting? that is where I just get lost. I know that everything says to set the ISO on your camera to match your film, but I see you guys changing that as you shoot. Sorry this was so long, but I just want to get started on the right foot. Thank you for any help you give.

In the beginning, adjust the meter to match the ASA/ISO of the film. 35mm film is batched developed. Every frame on the roll is developed all at the same time and in the same developer. Which is why you can only develop film for one ASA/ISO setting, so the entire roll needs to reflect only one value. In digital, each and every frame can be 'developed' individually ... So one can change the ISO constantly.

As you progress you can "Push" your film to a higher ASA/ISO then recommended by the manufacturer or "Pull" your film to a lower ASA/ISO than recommended. The photog compensates for the Push or Pull via different developers, different development times and/or different development temperatures.

I like Kodak TMAX and people like TriX as well; any of the Ilford B&W films are good.