Back into the world of B&W

llamov

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I was a professional photographer more than 2o years ago. I also taught classes in black and white photography. After I closed my studio, I sold all my gear and went on to other things.

I now find myself with a desire to make images once more, but I have little knowledge of digital equipment and processes other than an inexpensive digital point and shoot. I have no darkroom or darkroom equipment. I do still have all my stainless steel tanks and reels for developing film.

What I'd like to do is once more start shooting 35mm Tri-X in a Nikon F3, FE, or FM and developing the film in HC-110. This is the equipment and the materials with which I'm most comfortable. My problem is, how do I go about from there making images for my computer or making prints.

Does scanning the negs result in anywhere near the quality I used to get in the darkroom?

Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to the forum. Welcome back to b&w film. You will find this field very much changed from your times in business.
I don't know much about scanning the negs, but this technology is used by many with success. However good scanning is as hard as making FB prints. So after learning this and investing a big chunk of cash in a good scanner, good computer, calibrated screen and software maybe will be wise to think of shooting medium format from the start. That would give you quite an advantage in quality.

Medium format cameras are going for a fraction of what they once did, and the film costs only a little more than 35mm. AFIK