Background question

lucki85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have a possibly stupid question, but I am really new to photography and trying things out. I love the look of the pictures that have black backgrounds (kind of just looks like space). Anyway how do I get it to look like that? Is it all in photoshop? I do have a black background but obviously it just looks like a black background straight out of the camera. Anyway, I guess I am assuming it is done in photoshop, but would love to hear how to actually do it. I want to try to practice doing it with my children this week. Thanks!

Four ways to do it:

1 - Yes, you can do it in photoshop... but thats the longest way to do it.

2 - You can use a backdrop that is a black material. Velvet works best for this but it is expensive.

3 - You can use flash. Surprisingly, not many people know that light has a depth of field too. You set yourself up so that the DOF of the light is shallow and everything behind it looks dark/black.

4 - A combination of the above.

Okay...I have a black backdrop that I can use for now ( but velvet sounds like an awesome idea..def. going to get some). Maybe you can expand a little about the flash? I guess I'm not really sure what you mean about making the depth of field of the LIGHT shallow....BTW...I am using a 50mm and don't have an external flash. Thanks, I really want to try this out!

Welcome to the forum.

Actually, you can make any color/shade background look black...even without photoshop. Black (non reflective) is easier though.

Objects show up on a photo because they have light reflecting off of them. So if you don't have any light reflecting off if a background...it will appear black in the photo.

By adjusting the settings of you camera, you can control the amount of exposure...so you can underexpose the background...making it appear dark/black on the photo.