Backyard Birds

bored2tears

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography (I have had this camera for only 5 days so far), but with each day, I feel like I am improving. I took one thousand shots so far, and I liked only about 100 of them. I felt that only 3 of the shots were good enough to be posted on here, so please, any critique and ways to improve will be appreciated.

1.) This bird (if anyone could identify it for me, I would be happy), landed basically right next to me. I wanted to get a better shot and incorporate the bird's full body, but it flew away as I zoomed out.

375434_2123200099063_1817678212_1429163_1314229024_n.jpg

2.) I was a little disappointed that the blue jay wasn't fully focused, but still, I was happy with this flying shot.

406515_2123163258142_1817678212_1429092_1006036839_n.jpg

3.) I do not know why, but I really like this shot. It may only be me, that is.

166955_2128235224938_1817678212_1432102_150480778_n.jpg

4.) I think this was a house sparrow, although I am not sure. I think it allowed me to get so close to it sees me everyday (or perhaps it is happy that I built it a bird house).

375400_2128239785052_1817678212_1432114_657058783_n.jpg

(None of these images went through post processing. I am more focused on improving my skills before I start to edit them.)

I am new to photography ....
(None of these images went through post processing. I am more focused on improving my skills before I start to edit them.)

And there lies your problem. Most DSLR's are not set to produce snappy, sharp images by default. Generally, they will be a bit soft. That is to allow you to make the choices on your own.

You can't ignore processing and hope to improve because without knowing what the final results are, you don't know what is a throwaway or what is a keeper.

FWIW, it looks like you missed focus on most of these. For me, I think #3 could create a nice shot with a bit of editing.