Basic portrait

rob91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, so there's this guy who wants me to take a pictures of him and his wife for a Christmas card. I was hesitant at first because I have no experience doing this but figured it's worth a shot. So, what I'm looking for here is some advice because I know close to nothing about this. Lighting is probably important, I only have these small lights that came with a lightbox kit, I'll bring them along and see what I can do. I'll try to get even lighting, and expose for their faces? I imaging I'll be going to their house, just try to find a nice place to sit them down/pose and go from there.

I'll be shooting with a Rebel XT, and have the choice between a Tamron 28-75 f2.8 and a canon 50m 1.8. Any recs which is better to use?

Thanks guys.

a couple good rules for portrait style shooting (and i'm no expert, but this is what i've learned) . First, you want to have a main light. This light will come in from one side (and probably slightly above the subject. ) hair-light is good , but not really necessary for a good photo. You will also want fill light so one side of their faces isnt draped in shadow. This can be in the form of a reflector, low-powered strobe, or even just a big white piece of foam core. you may also want background lighting.

Ok, so there's this guy who wants me to take a pictures of him and his wife for a Christmas card. I was hesitant at first because I have no experience doing this but figured it's worth a shot. So, what I'm looking for here is some advice because I know close to nothing about this. Lighting is probably important, I only have these small lights that came with a lightbox kit, I'll bring them along and see what I can do. I'll try to get even lighting, and expose for their faces? I imaging I'll be going to their house, just try to find a nice place to sit them down/pose and go from there.