Basic question about RAW images

somberg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My understanding is that jpeg images have been processed by my camera and RAW images have not. Why, then, when I have my camera record both and then display them on the screen, do they look identical? I am guessing that whatever program I use to display the images has done some processing on the RAW images, but it (if that is the explanation) it is curious that the camera and the computer software made equivalent copies.

Both the raw file and jpeg will look the same until you make adjustments to the raw file.

With raw you can change white balance, exposure, saturation, contrast, sharpening etc.

Where as jpeg you do not have so much room to correct these things as it is the final image.

Raw provides a non destructive way of editing after the fact, where as jpeg does not. Hope that makes sense. I'm no real expert but that's my understanding.

Both the raw file and jpeg will look the same until you make adjustments to the raw file.

Not true. The OP stated it correctly. Jpegs are processed in camera to your camera manufactures taste. Raw files have had zero processing. Therefore, they will seldom look anything alike straight out of the camera. Some raw editing software, such as Lightroom, by default will add a touch of sharpening and some noise reduction when the file is opened, unless that is turned off in options. Otherwise, you must do all of the corrections yourself.

When the camera records the RAW file it also embeds a processed JPG preview. This preview is what you see on the LCD after taking the picture. Some programs simply display the same preview instead of developing the RAW file. The camera manufacturer's software may also read all of the camera settings from the RAW file and develop the photo exactly the same way the camera would.