Basketball Gym Question

Rob4bama

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can decent basketball pictures be made in a "average" high school gym without strobes or flashes? I have a canon 60d, sigma 17-50 f.28, sigma 70-200 f2.8, and canon 50mm f1.8. I can be anywhere in the gym because I teach there. Thanks!

It's not about your camera. It's all about the light in the gym. You may have crappy lights from the '60s, or dazzling lights installed 6 months ago.

Gyms can vary widely in the amount of natural and artificial light. Best thing you can do is take in your camera during the light conditions you expect to shoot in and look at your light meter.

We just had new fluorescent put in to our gym. When you say "look at your light meter", what do you mean? I'm relatively new to photography. Thanks again!

I have gotten shots in a decently lot gym with 70-200 f/2.8 and an 85mm f/1.8

If the lighting is decent f/2.8 and ISO 3200 should work, if the lighting stinks you might want to see if you can rent or borrow an 85mm f/1.8 USM. You can try the nifty fifty but the focusing will probably be too slow.

Typically, yes. At ISO 1600/3200, your f/2.8 lenses should do well at about 1/500 or better.

2CBL2325-L.jpg

2CBL2318-L.jpg

2CBL2436-L.jpg

129761914_sifBJ-L.jpg

Gary

Awesome!!! Thanks guys. They should be holding practices soon so I can practice but its usually during the day. We have windows at the top of the gym so I figured that would make a difference since all games are played at night.