Battery

mickmoonie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to DSLR usage, can my D80 battery be charged while still I'm the camera or will I just toast it all?

Sent from my iPhone using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

Three batteries and two charges and you won't have to think about things like this.

Both of my Nikon cameras have separate chargers, and the battery had to come out of the camera to be charged in the charger.
So NO I could not use the cameras as the battery is being charged.

I have TWO batteries. Though in practice, so far, I have never exhausted #1, to the point where I had to switch to #2. But I have #2, for when that will sooner or later happen to me.

If you are going on a vacation, that is a different situation, and I agree with Dave.
You may not be able to do a charge every night, so you need 2 days of batteries.
And now that you have 2 or 3 drained batteries, you need at least 2 chargers.
This is the downside of the electronic camera.

I have the MB-D80 battery grip and three batteries for my D90. I've yet to need that third battery.

I have the MB-D80 battery grip and three batteries for my D90. I've yet to need that third battery.

Do you find the battery grip useful as I have one on order, would be nice to get another opinion?

I do not like the bulk and weight they add.
I can shoot in portrait mode just fine w/o a grip.

However, I have friends that just love their grip for portrait mode shooting, and don't mind the extra weight.

Do you find the battery grip useful as I have one on order, would be nice to get another opinion?

I do not like the bulk and weight they add.
I can shoot in portrait mode just fine w/o a grip.

However, I have friends that just love their grip for portrait mode shooting, and don't mind the extra weight.

I shoot film with a Nikon F5. What weight?