Beginner - d5100 vs d3200 HELP!

Lolabee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

I am COMPLETELY new to the more professional type cameras and am looking to buy my first one.
basically at this point in time I will just being using the camera for family/children shots, action shot eg; when the children are running and playing. I will be using sometime for video but this isn't a huge factor for me.

Easy to understand or for beginners doesn't really bother me either I don't mind a little challenge to understand the camera.

Basically deciding between the d5100 or the d3200 at this point.

Any suggestions or opinions welcome!

Thank you!

Oh and megapixels, are they a factor when deciding with slr cameras?! Eg higher the better?! (may be a silly question, please forgive if so!!)

Unless money is a problem I would get the d7000.

it has some features you don't need right now, but if you are serious they will become apparant pretty soon.

I recommend reading ken rockwell's reviews. Not to take his advice, but he is good at explaining those features I am talking about.

commander mode

internal focus motor

lightweight

low light performance

dual memory slots

do your research, you won't be disappointed.

The D7000 is the vastly superior camera to both the D5100 and D3200 in almost all aspects.

If between the D5100 and D3200, ask yourself if you want to do a lot of video? If you want to do a lot of video, the D3200 is better. If you're mostly focused on still photography, the D5100 is better.

Unless money is a problem I would get the d7000.

it has some features you don't need right now, but if you are serious they will become apparant pretty soon.

I recommend reading ken rockwell's reviews. Not to take his advice, but he is good at explaining those features I am talking about.

commander mode

internal focus motor

lightweight

low light performance

dual memory slots

do your research, you won't be disappointed.