Beginner Help Product Photography

williyam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, my name is William.
I'm completely new to photography aside from taking a few photos with a DSLR. I need to take pictures frequently for my businesses and have decided to purchase my own set up to do it myself. I've been trying to decide which set up to get for hours now and Google doesn't seem to get me anywhere conclusive. I'm looking to take product pictures and so far here is my dilemma:

Should I purchase soft boxes or umbrellas for product photography?
Do I need a light tent or can I just use a back drop with soft boxes or umbrellas?

Thanks guys, I tried Googling this for a while now and while I've gotten a lot of information about these options, I'm still very unsure which would be the best fit for me long term.

I am interested in what the answers will be as well.

My guess is that your product size, will have a lot of bearing on what type of set-up you will need.

Much of lighting is knowing "how" light behaves, and what is needed to get desired effects. The book Light,Science, Magic is a classic how-to text, but there are also a number of good books dedicated to table-top and small product photography that could help you learn ways to set up various lighting schemes. We have no idea whatsoever what your products are. There are many,many ways to light small products and still-life shots. Umbrellas, bounce cards, scrims, light tents, umbrellas, spot lights,snoots, flags,gobos,cookies,mirrors, all sorts of things can be used, depending on what the desired effects are.