Beginner here. Suggestions for DSLR?

radrebellion

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a beginner photographer (and by beginner, I truly mean I've only picked up a DSLR a couple of times) and I have a class that requires the use of a DSLR.

I've been looking around for a relatively cheap, but good quality camera and I was considering purchasing a Canon EOS Rebel T2i / 550D 18.0 MP DSLR Camera w/ EF-S IS 18-55mm Lens.

Should I get this camera? If not, what other suggestions do you have for a beginner's camera. I don't need anything really fancy, but I would like a camera that takes good quality pictures at at relatively fair price point that a college student can afford.

Much thanks in advance!

Thats a fine camera that you can learn very well on, and even takes great pictures. I started on the t31 which was just a minor upgrade to the t2. I think youll be very happy with that camera.

Hello,

I'm a beginner photographer (and by beginner, I truly mean I've only picked up a DSLR a couple of times) and I have a class that requires the use of a DSLR.

I've been looking around for a relatively cheap, but good quality camera and I was considering purchasing a Canon EOS Rebel T2i / 550D 18.0 MP DSLR Camera w/ EF-S IS 18-55mm Lens.

Should I get this camera? If not, what other suggestions do you have for a beginner's camera. I don't need anything really fancy, but I would like a camera that takes good quality pictures at at relatively fair price point that a college student can afford.

Much thanks in advance!
I assume you are looking for second hand camera ?
Or do you want new ?

The t2i has been discontinued for a long time.

For a first DSLR purchase I think it's important to research and decide not just the camera that meets your needs but also what system (product line) will meet your future needs. Once you buy in to a line and start to accumulate the necessary accessories, it's difficult to justify a switch.