beginner in need of tutorial

Trig

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a total beginner... technically. So i was wondering if anyone had the knowledge of a great website that gave details of terms and techniques, ones like telephoto, aperature, ISO etc, those words and abreviations I have no clue about and was wondering how people learnt them.

Nice forum by the way.

Ill do better than that matey...ill do my best to explain those terms to you.

By the way...this is the best website for info :) everyone here is really nice...so ask away!

Telephoto - This is a type of lens thats zoom range starts alot higher and gets even bigger.

A telephoto generally starts at about...55 - 75
anything below that is known as a wide angel lens :)

Aparature - this is the size of a little whole in your lens which lets in certain amounts of light.

The aparature can affect the depth of field...

For instance...have you noticed a portrait picture, where only the person is in focus...yet in others, the background is in focus aswell...or near to.
This is because the aparature is set to high, which will make the background blird.
And a small aparature...makes alot more in focus...hope im explaining this ok.

ISO - Not sure for what it stands for...but it is the speed of the film.

IS0 ranges from 100...to about ...3200...and maybe more.
The higher the ISO...the more sensitive the film is to light.
Also...the higher the ISO...the more grainy the picture looks.

So...for a really sunny day...you may use a 200 ISO film...or even maybe a 50....but...for when your in a theature...and dont wanna use your flash...you can use a 3200 ISO...this will be slightly worse quality...but the pictures will come out quicker!

You only live up the road from me Trig. We get our pet food at Jollies (what's the betting you have no idea what I'm on about?). :mrgreen:

Artemis is right on those points. But I just thought I'd add to them.