beginner photo to be used by friend in advertising

dieselgirl_77

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello

i'm just very new to photography (less than 6 months) but i've been taking tons of pictures and took a beginners class. i show my pictures to my friends and one of them who's working as the marketing/advertising head in a small start-up company asked me if i could share my picture with him so that he can use it for his design projects (note he said "SHARE").

my question is, i am just a beginner and this is my good friend. i haven't really responded to his question yet because i don't know if should charge him or should i just give him my pictures for free? and just ask him to put a note at the bottom of his designs that photos were taken by me?

please advise. thanks!

I'm not experienced or anything in this, but if he makes money from YOUR image, you should be getting some money for it regardless of the friendship

Unless your going to get big cash out of it I wouldn't make it an issue. If he does use it you can use it to begin a portfolio of professional work. If comes back to you for another I would say definatly work out some kind of deal, but as far as the 1st photo is concerned its not worth making waves. If your were a pro I could see charging him right off the bat but considering you've only been involved with photography for 6 months its not like your are putting all your time into photogrphy to make a living, Im sure its just more of a hobby for you so dont be greedy.

yes, that's what i was thinking too. i don't want him to think i was being greedy but at the same time, i'm not familiar with the business side of photography at all... i agree with what you said d-50, it's really just a hobby and this could be a good start for me to build a portfolio. thanks for the advice.