Beginner Photographer

ZellDincht

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
HI, I'm new to TPF forum. I have long been into photography and have just bought my first DSLR :lol:
I got myself the Canon EOS 600D with EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS.
I learnt the basic concept of ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture from some of my friends and I just thought I'd be able to learn more from the forum.

I'm thinking of either getting myself a Canon Prime Lens 50mm f/1.8 or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom Lens? I haven't quite made sure yet. Also I'm interested in looking at Canon Speedlite 430EX II. Any thoughts on these? :confused:

HI, I'm new to TPF forum. I have long been into photography and have just bought my first DSLR :lol:
I got myself the Canon EOS 600D with EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS.
I learnt the basic concept of ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture from some of my friends and I just thought I'd be able to learn more from the forum.

I'm thinking of either getting myself a Canon Prime Lens 50mm f/1.8 or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom Lens? I haven't quite made sure yet. Also I'm interested in looking at Canon Speedlite 430EX II. Any thoughts on these? :confused:
Welcome!

What are you planning to shoot? What is your budget? Do you plan a career or just want to go out and take some snapshots?

You already have a decent zoom lens (EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS), so I'd get the 50mm prime. It's great for low-light situations and it's cheaper than the telephoto, so you might afford the Speedlite.

Aaah, about that. I guess probably the latter. I doubt I'd be able to get into professional photography with the way I am now, I do photography as a hobby. I like capturing moments. Ranging from landscape, candid photos, portrait, etc :lol: My budget for now is about less than 400pounds. Do you reckon it's worth looking at the 50mm f/1.4 too or is the 50mm f/1.8 decent enough? Thanks for the swift reply.