Beginner Project

TeeVex

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone, my name is Thomas. I am a grade 10 student in the advanced class of my grade, we have been assigned a project to pursue something that interests us or that we are passionate about. I have always appreciated a good picture but never really got myself to get in to photography until this opportunity sprung up.

So, for my class project I have about two months time and I am essentially free to run with it.
I decided I want to learn photography. The best way i could think of was to spend my first two weeks working on learning the basics (terminology, technique, camera settings, etc...) and then spend the rest of the two months taking pictures, with a new theme/category every week. I understand that two weeks isn't a lot of time so if any categories involve more advanced techniques i could learn those as i go along.

Anyways, if anybody has any ideas or ways to improve my project idea, or some theme/category ideas for my pictures i would strongly appreciate it.

Thank you in advance,
-Thomas.

As a theme I would suggest:

Pictures with foreground, middle ground and background.

Pictures with leading lines

Thomas,

You'll learn more quickly if you actually take pictures in the 1st 2 weeks also. Just trying to abstractly understand a subject before doing it is not a good way to learn. Be sure to post some photos here for critique and constructive criticism.

Best

Nate

Thomas, welcome!

Instead of learning "the basics" in the first two weeks, why not pick it up the same way that we do; one thing at a time (only compressed into your two-month time frame)?

The first week is familiarizing yourself with the basic operations of the camera, reading (in your case analyzing) the user's manual, and taking your first photographs.

Week Two, (and subsequent weeks) build upon that knowledge and you learn something new.