Beginner

VaE39

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,
I just wanted to say hello. I love photography but I have no experience but I'm willing to learn. I've taking a few nice pictures here and there with point and shoots but I want to actually get a DSLR while I can get a discount while I work at a camera store for the summer. What would you suggest as a good beginner SLR for me? I want to keep pursuing this, but Hey I gotta start somewhere. Thanks for the help everyone.

What's your budget?

Well I get about a 25% discount on any camera and a 45% discount on olympus slrs. That being said, after the discount I have a budget of about $400-600. Something not too advanced for me I guess.

Is that a combined 70% discount? Or max 45% on the Olympus.

The Evolt-410 is highly recommended by Dpreview (although some of their cons would turn me personally off). However for the money and the discount you receive it might be an attractive offer - come out to around 500 or so with a 45% discount.

The Canon 400XT (700 bucks or so) is probably going to be a better buy however - cheaper (base price), greater resale value and no doubt better web presence to assist with any issues you might have.

It occupies that "high end amateur" dSLR strata, so pick up Understanding Exposure, and be sure to read the manual and it would be a very good first dSLR purchase. Use your employee discount to grab a nice prime lens and away you go.

Thanks for the info. Yeah its pretty killer discount. 25% on all cameras and max 45% for Olympus. I can get a E510 for 500 or so. I'll look into that 400XT. What about the good ole Nikon D40?