Best Camera

stfugine

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey, I'm totally new to photography, but I've always wanted to learn to do it professionally (for about 2 years now)... So now, I decided to step up and get it going.

Now, I have a digital camera, but I'd like to invest in a better one ,to buy for my Christmas this year... So, I have to start saving up now, and I'll get a job this summer (I'm only a teenager ^___^).

I expect to spend $500US most right, and right now I'm leaning to the Sony-DSC-H7/H9... But really... I'm a complete newbie to this digital camera buying, so I was wondering. Do you recommend any specifically? Released or unreleased (well, unreleased until Christmas ^^)... I want to start saving up now ^___^.

Thank you.

If you want to get serious, don't even consider any more point-n'-shooters. Buy a 35mm or Digital SLR.

Assuming your upper limit is really $US500, be aware of the following:

If you're going digital you'll need a tripod, a data card, a spare battery and a polarizing filter. You might also want a separate flash unit. Price those out, subtract from $US500, and you know how much you have left for the camera.

If you're going film, you have to decide on film size: 35mm or 120. Again, you'll need a tripod, filter, lensshade and money for film and processing. Again, subtract from $US500 and what remains will be the maximum cost of the camera.

Oh wow.

Perhaps the more appropriate question would have been, how do I step into the world of photography? What exactly do I need to have and know, to start photography?