Best digital camera for fashion/editorial style portrait photography?

tinkerbell50404

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
What is the best digital camera for Fashion/Editorial Style Portrait Photography?

My budget it about $600-800. I am looking for a camera that can attach a 200-300mm lens to it to for DOF. And I would like to be able to manually set the aperture.

Hmm...Canon Rebel XT on ebay! But I'm a noob so wait for a pro. I am just keeping your budget in mind.

please copy and paste the below questions with as many answers as you can give, this way others can help you to find a camera that fits your needs.

Many of you wonder what type of digital camera you should get. Before you ask, make sure you answer these following questions. This would help us greatly and save a ton of time.

General Questions

1) What is your budget?

2)What is your megapixel preference? (The higher the megapixel count, the larger your image dimensions.)

3) What size camera would you prefer?
a. SLR; 1.5 lb+
b. SLR-like (Prosumer); >1.5lb
c. Compact; >0.75lb
d. Ultra-Compact; >0.5lb

4) What subjects will you be shooting with the camera?

5) Do you want the ability to change your lenses?

6) Do you plan to do any heavy post-processing in Photoshop (or related programs) or do you want to print images straight from the camera?

7) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?

icon_cool.gif
Is battery life a concern to you, and how many shots do you hope to take?

9) Do you mind buying the camera online without seeing the camera in person?

10) Did you plan to make large prints or mere snapshots with the camera?

11) Do you want a large rear LCD to view your pictures with?

12) Is the camera's looks and stylishness important to you?

13) How long do you want the camera to last?

14) How much storage capacity do you want? (this is memory card dependent, but some mediums are cheaper than the other)

15) Do you need a video recording capability?