best lens for Nikon d3200 for weddings?

Aabug2013

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Nikon d3200, I really want to upgrade but waiting for the funds to do so. I am very new to this. Was wondering what lens is best for wedding photography and outside portraits with a Nikon d3200?

No best, but off the cuff I'd say the nikon 17-55 f2.8 or an alternative like the sigma 17-50mm f2.8 OS coupled with knowledge may be one of the better options. If you need to ask........

I have a Nikon d3200, I really want to upgrade but waiting for the funds to do so. I am very new to this. Was wondering what lens is best for wedding photography and outside portraits with a Nikon d3200?

Well for weddings your looking at doing a lot of shots indoors in some pretty difficult lighting conditions, so the faster the lens the better, up to a certain point.

Since your shooting a D3200 you'll want to make sure you purchase a lens that has a built in focus motor, Tamron lenses call it BIM and Sigma refers to it as HSM. Since your camera body doesn't have a built in motor you'll want to make certain the lens you purchase does or you'll have to manually focus.

If your on a budget a Tamron or Sigma somewhere in the 17-50 2.8 range would be a good option. If you can afford it a 70-200mm 2.8 would be a really nice thing to have as well, so you don't have to get quite so close to the action for decent closeups, but of course even the "cheap" options there are going to be fairly expensive. I got a fantastic deal on a Sigma 70-200mm 2.8 without the OS, and I paid $375 for it. Normally you won't see anything in that category go for less than $400 and up.

Ok thanks so much! I am definitely going to purchase one, maybe both! Going to check them both out now!

Ok thanks so much! I am definitely going to purchase one, maybe both! Going to check them both out now!