Best starter hostiing -- Flickr, Wordpress, my own domain? What software?

SteveL27

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, first post. Thanks for having me!

I'm an amateur with a very minimal web presence so far. I just went out to the Bay to Breakers race in San Francisco and have a few hundred frames that people would like to see. It's a huge public event and there's no point in going out and shooting all these photos and then not showing them to anyone :)

I want this to be the start of my online presence, and I'd like the ability to blog and allow comment on my photos. Here's my breakdown of my alternatives as I see them. I wonder if anyone can provide advice and point me to things I may be missing.

I think Flickr will let me put up a few hundred photos and they allows comment, so it looks like a good choice for what to do right now.

Flickr isn't a blog, so I looked at Wordpress. WP has two flavors, hosted by them (wordpress.com) and hosted by me (wordpress.org). In the hosted-by-them flavor, there are only a couple of photo blog templates and they don't look all that exciting. I haven't worked with them much.

In terms of hosting WP on my own domain, I eventually want to do that, so I can control the software and not have to deal with their ads or charges or policies or whatever. However I don't want to do that right now, I just want to get my Bay to Breakers pics up.

I have another alternative. I do own a hosted domain. I'm a Lightroom user, so I can just output one of their Web templates and it will build a gallery for me; then I can make a zipfile of the gallery, upload it to my site, and it will all work fine. I know how to do that.

My only concerns are 1) The LR Web templates kinds of suck; and 2) they don't allow comments.

So, any advice? What to do this week, and then what to do long term? Also if there are any LR templates that I can download that do what I want, that might be an ideal solution.